Cinnamon Sugar Cornbread Muffins

This week the blog has received a bit of a facelift. Since I have been baking up a storm for a year now, I think that it is about time that I change the layout a smidge (especially since considering that I didn’t like my first theme to start with). On top of that change, I have also decided to start a Vine account for this blog. It is by the same name, Cupcakes On St Marks, and will have some nice little videos of the things I bake (and as a little secret between you and me, it may have a few added videos of recipes I don’t post on the blog). So help me out and check it out and add me on there if you’ve got an account.

Now for this weeks recipe! I have tried cornbread before but every time we attempted it, it just didn’t end up tasting like cornbread. I mentioned this in passing to my mother, and with her being the single most thoughtful woman in the world, she found some really nicer, high quality cornmeal and sent it to me to try out instead of the kind I was using. So I thought what better to do this week then give this cornmeal a whirl. Naturally I did not have an interest in doing anything along the lines of ‘traditional’ cornmeal so I scoured the internet for some more unique recipes that would fall under the category of things that require only the ingredients already in my household. Luckily I came across one that was simple enough and definitely spoke my language: Cinnamon Sugar Cornbread.
I must admit, not my first thought for a pairing with cornbread but it works! I actually quite enjoy the extra kick of sweetness you get with it. Also, it was quite clear to me that this cornmeal was way better than the stuff I had been cooking with before so that was great to see. I still think that I may, in the future, need to try out a recipe with some real corn right in the mixture to make it 100% cornbread. But, until then, this stuff will definitely work!

 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Cinnamon Sugar Cornbread

1/2 cup butter
2/3 cup white sugar
1/4 cup honey (or real maple syrup)
1/2 tsp salt
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups flour
3/4 cup (good quality!) cornmeal
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup milk
1/3 cup sugar
1 tbsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
Cream together butter, sugar, honey (or maple syrup) and salt. When combined, add the two eggs. In a separate bowl combine flour, cornmeal, baking powder. Add the dry ingredients into the creamed mixture while adding the milk.
In a small bowl mix together the cinnamon and sugar for the topping.
Line a muffin tin (or grease a loaf pan) fill half way with batter, sprinkle with cinnamon sugar topping, fill with remaining batter and top off with the rest of the cinnamon sugar.
Bake for 15-18 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Let them cool for a few minutes and serve warm with butter, honey, or plain!

Leave a Reply

