Raspberry Streusel

Once again my baked good was so popular that it seemed to disappear! This This one was so popular, though, that it is now finished before I even got to post the recipe on my blog! It’s okay though because I am not complaining about having people so excited to eat what I make!
This weekend I got the joy of spending some time with my grandmother and she was so excited to have me there that she wanted to try baking something with me, so she pulled out all her recipes and decided on this one that she couldn’t wait to try. We ended up making do with the strawberries that she had but this week I went with the raspberries it called for. Also, The original recipe is for muffins but since I haven’t bought muffin tins yet I went for a full cake instead. Needless to say every which way I’ve made it, it was equally delicious! I highly recommend it for any seasonal fruit that people wanted to try because it is a great base recipe.

 

Image

Image

ImageImage

Image

Raspberry Streusel

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup milk
1 cup butter, melted
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
1 pint fresh raspberries (or other seasonal berry/fruit)

Streusel topping

2/3 cup all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons light brown sugar
5 tablespoons chilled butter, cut into pieces
1/3 cup sliced almonds

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line muffin tins with paper liners (or grease cake pan).
Whisk together first 4 ingredients in a large bowl. Whisk together eggs and next 3 ingredients in a medium bowl; stir egg mixture into flour mixture just until blended. (Try not to overmix!) Gently fold in raspberries/fruit. Spoon batter into prepared muffin tins or pan. Top with streusel mixture.

To make topping, combine flour, sugar, and brown sugar in a bowl; cut in butter with a fork or pastry blender until crumbly. Stir in almonds.

Bake for 20 minutes or until muffins spring bake when touched lightly in center (as a cake it took closer to 30-35 minutes). Remove from pan and serve warm.

Leave a Reply

