Chocolate Pie

So my life has been crazy busy recently and I have not had time to bake anything special! It has been a weird transition but I got to make my quick recipe for cookies from when I moved in and now I have finally made something big.
This week I asked my new roommates what they would like and got one suggestion ‘chocolate’. Well since there are a zillion recipes for chocolate things luckily we narrowed it down to chocolate pie. After searching online I came across a recipe that was taken from the movie Waitress on a blog specially dedicated to tv and movie recipes (http://recipesinmovies.tumblr.com/). I also did not pay enough attention to the fact that their recipe provides enough dough to make two pies with, so instead I tossed the second half of the dough pieces onto a baking sheet and made little bite sized cookie crust things out of them; which were then gone in nearly 30 minutes.
As far as future recipes go, I did not get to take my cook books with me since I was strapped for space in my luggage on the plane but I would love to hear any sort of requests from anyone! If anyone has any requests, leave a comment and I’d love to try them.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Jenna’s First Kiss Pie

Chocolate Petal Crust

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter or margarine, softened
1 cup sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda

Pie Filling

1 1/3 cups (8 oz.) semi sweet chocolate chips
1/3 cup milk
1 1/2 cups miniature marshmallows
1 cup (1/2 pt.) cold whipping cream
Optional: sweetened whipped cream and chocolate pieces for topping

For the crust

Beat butter, sugar, egg and vanilla in large bowl until fluffy. Stir together flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt; beat into butter mixture. Shape soft dough into two rolls, about 7-1/2 inches long. Wrap each roll in wax paper or plastic wrap; refrigerate several hours or overnight (or toss in the freezer for a bit!).
Heat oven to 375°F. Grease 9-inch pie plate.
Cut one roll into 1/8-inch-thick slices; place on bottom and up side of prepared pie plate, edges touching. (Spaces between slices of dough in crust fill in during baking.)
Bake 8 to 10 minutes. Cool completely. Enough dough for 2 crusts.

For Filling

Microwave chocolate pieces with milk in large microwave-safe bowl at medium (50%) 1 minute; stir until well blended. Stir in marshmallows. Microwave 30 seconds; stir. If necessary, microwave an additional 15 seconds at a time, stirring after each heating until marshmallows are melted. Cool to room temperature.
Beat whipping cream in medium bowl until stiff; carefully fold into chocolate mixture. Spoon into prepared crust. Refrigerate until firm, about 4 hours. Garnish with sweetened whipped cream and chocolate pieces. Cover; refrigerate leftover pie. 8 servings.

 

One thought on “Chocolate Pie

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Peppermint Revisits | Cupcakes on St Marks

Leave a Reply

