Quick Recipe: Caramel Cookies

I have not been able to bake in a very very long time, it seems! The past few weeks have been bonkers with having to pack up my apartment at school just to go home for three days before flying down to Florida for my summer internship! Obviously I have not had the time to bake with all this craziness but it feels so weird for me to not be baking. So, I tried to make something quick with whatever was leftover in my new apartment and this is how I made do!
I was planning on making cinnamon caramel cookies but there was no ground cinnamon (only cinnamon sticks) so I replaced that with pumpkin pie spice, admittedly not enough of it though (and I also made the cookies much larger than the recipe called for). Then again, the apartment doesn’t have any measuring cups and I had to guess about how much I needed for everything. But, this weekend I will try my best to remember to pick up measuring cups and find a new fun recipe to make! But here is the latest thing I have done.


Image

Image

Caramel Cookies

1 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
sugar

In a mixer bowl, cream together sugar and butter; beat in egg and vanilla.
Combine flour, cinnamon, baking powder and salt. Add to butter mixture. Blend well.
Cover and refrigerate 2 hours or till firm enough to roll into balls.
Shape dough into small balls about 3/4-inch in diameter.
Roll in sugar to coat.
Set cookies 1-inch apart on lightly greased cookie sheets.
Bake at 350° for 10 minutes or till the edges are lightly browned.
Cool slightly on pans, then remove to racks to cool completely.

Leave a Reply

