Delicious Disney Desserts: Italian Lemon Tart

Sorry this post is so late (almost two weeks, yikes) but it is worth it, believe me.

For Easter my mother surprised me with the Delicious Disney Desserts book that I had been drooling over the entire time I was in Florida in my past trip down there. Not to mention I love Disney with such a strong passion that it was just about time that I involved it into my baking. It was so lovely to have and I knew I had to try something as soon as I got the chance. Choice number one: The Italian Lemon Tart featured from the Disney Cruise Line.
It was more delicious than I could have imagined and the crust, no lie, tastes like a sugar cookie crust. I am pretty sure I am going to be using this crust recipe for other combinations of pies or tarts in the future!

 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Italian Lemon Tart from the Disney Cruise Line

For Pastry:
1/2 cup powdered sugar
8 tablespoons (1 stick) cold butter, cut into small pieces
1 1/2 cups flour
1 egg yolk
1/4 cup ice-cold water

For Filling:
1 1/2 tablespoons lemon zest
1/2 cup lemon juice
4 eggs
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon heavy cream
Fresh fruit (optional for topping)

Knead the powdered sugar lightly with the butter. Add flour and egg yolk and knead until mixture is crumbly.
Add water a tablespoon at a time until dough just holds together. Roll dough into a ball and flatten into a disk. Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate at least 2 hours.
Preheat oven to 300˚F. Roll dough on a lightly floured surface into an 11-inch circle. Transfer dough to a 9-inch tart pan (or pie pan).
Pierce dough 15-20 times with a fork. Bake crust 25 to 30 minutes, pressing with the back of a fork if bubbles form. Remove from oven and increase oven temperate to 350˚F (to bake tart with filling).

Whisk together lemon zest, lemon juice, eggs, sugar, and cream. Strain mixture through a fine mesh sleeve (we improvised with a grater since we don’t have that) into the warm tart shell. Bake for 35 to 45 minutes until filling is set in the senter. Let tart cool completely. Garnish with fresh fruit, if desired.

Cook’s Note: Any fresh fruit, seasonal fruit goes well, especially sweet raspberries.

Leave a Reply

