Double Berry Pie

This week has been crazy for me and I have not seemed to have a single day off in a while but most of what is happening is all lovely news. I got to meet my favorite photographer during an amazing 24 hours in New York City as well as good news for everyone in the apartment about the coming summer and I am on the road to making my first photographs in my upcoming long term project. And that’s where this weeks baked good comes into play…
This week I wanted to bake something that was very 1950’s housewife product because I wanted to use it as a prop in the background of my images I was making for my 1950’s photo project. I was really hoping to make something like peach cobbler but fresh peaches are seemingly impossible to get my hands on at this time in the season. Next my mind went to apple pie but I’ve just made it so much that I wanted to do something new and exciting for me. So, while grumbling around the grocery store we came to the conclusion that a berry pie would be the best idea. I couldn’t get my hands on any raspberries so it was a double berry pie of strawberries and blueberries that we made.
Naturally, it had to be old fashioned so instead of a full cover or a lattice top I did a twisted edge with the extra pie crust for the finishing touch. (Made from my Perfect Pie Crust Recipe of course!) It is awful because I haven’t taken my photos yet (and it needs to be in tact for my project) so I haven’t even tried a bite. It is just sitting on my counter, eyeing me deliciously, waiting to be devoured by me and my friends that are assisting me later. I hope to goodness it is yummy or I’m going to feel really silly.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Berry Pie

1 pie crust (homemade or store bought)
3 cups of fresh strawberries, halved or quartered
1 cup of fresh blueberries
1/2 cup sugar
3 tablespoons cornstarch (or flour)

In a large mixing bowl, stir together the sugar and cornstarch (or flour). Add the berries and gently toss until the berries are coated. Allow the fruit to stand for about 15 minutes.
Preheat the oven to 375 F and place a baking sheet in the oven to preheat.
Roll out the pie crust and ease it into the pie plate, trimming the crust around the edges of the plate. Stir the berry mixture once more before pouring the filling into the pastry lined pie plate. (You can place a top crust over the top and trim to have a 1/2 inch over hang to crimp the edges or do something decorative on the edges like we did here.) To prevent over browning, cover the edge of the pie with foil.
Bake in the preheated oven on the baking tray for 25 minutes. Remove the foil and bake for an additional 20 to 30 minutes, or until the filling is bubbling and the crust is golden. Let the pie cool on a wire rack before enjoying!

Note: You also can substitute the amount of berries we used (4 cups) with any combination of berries of your choice (or what’s seasonal)!

Leave a Reply

