Lemonade Pound Cake

Disaster struck this week here at Cupcakes On St Marks.
My mother wanted me to try a lemon pound cake because she loves them and we had some leftover lemonade concentrate so I thought I’s make lemonade pound cake with it. So I found a few different recipes for lemon pound cake and lemonade cake and tried combining the them all. Everything was going fine and dandy until I flipped the cake over to ice it. It was entirely raw in the center. I could have just given up the remainder of the day, crawled into my covers and hid until I fell asleep, ‘I done until the new year’ kind of thing.
So, I am still going to present this recipe because it tasted good. But BE SMARTER THAN I WAS A TEST THE POUND CAKE WITH A TOOTHPICK OR SCEWER RATHER THAN JUST SEE IF THE TOP IS SPRINGY LIKE I DID.
Okay, enough wallowing, Victoria! I think that it was kind of ingenious to invent this recipe since it was nowhere to find online. Plus I have the little bugger sitting in the oven now until his center is cooked and he learns his lesson. Then we’ll eat him.

StMarksCupcakes_LemonadePoundCake-10

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

Lemonade Pound Cake

3 1/4 cups flour
1 tablespoon salt
2 cups sugar
1 cup sour cream
1 container (6 oz.) frozen lemonade concentrate (thawed)
1 package (3 oz.) cream cheese (at room temperature)
3 eggs
For Glaze:
Confectioner sugar, lemon juice, lemon rind (optional)

Preheat oven to 350˚. Lightly mist a bundt pan with vegetable oil spray, then dust with floud. Shake excess flour off pan. Set aside.
Place dry ingredients, sour cream, lemonade concentrate, cream cheese, and eggs in a large mixing bowl. Blend with an electric mixer on low for 1 minute. Stop to scrape down the sides then increase mixer speed to medium and beat for 2 minutes more, scraping down the sides when needed.
Pour the well-blended batter into the prepared pan, smoothing it out with a rubber spatula. Place the pan in the oven.
Bake the cake until it springs back when lightly pressed AND A TOOTHPICK INSERTED COMES OUT CLEAN. (NOTE: I baked it for 40 minutes and that wasn’t nearly enough so I’d say shoot for 50 minutes and test incrementally from there if that isn’t enough.)
Remove the pan from the oven and place on a cooling wire rack for 20 minutes. Meanwhile, prepare the glaze by whisking together the ingredients in a small bowl.
Run a long, sharp knife around the edge of the cake and invert it onto a serving platter. Spoon the glaze evenly over the warm cake so it drizzles down the sides and into the center.
All I can do is wish you guys the best of luck if you try this recipe and hopefully it comes out way more successful than mine… Anyways! Happy New Years and be safe!

Leave a Reply

