Mom’s Apple Pie

So now that I have dedicated myself to a baking lifestyle, I requested that I was able to make all the desserts for Thanksgiving this year. However, one of the staples every year is Mom’s apple pie. So I was lucky enough that I was allowed to take that part over and, with the instructions and aid of mom, be in charge of the pie.
I went all out and even made the pie crust from scratch (since I don’t like anything that isn’t homemade!) which you can find the recipe for here.
Now, usually I am not one for pie but since I made this I obviously had to have a piece and I have got to say, my mom knows where it’s at. This recipe is great and I cannot believe that I wasted all these years not eating it at holidays! I am just hoping I can keep up this tradition for years to come.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

ImageImage

Apple Pie

8 apples (varieties)
1 cup sugar
4 tablespoons flour
4 teaspoon cinnamon
sprinkle of nutmeg
1 tablespoon butter

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
Roll out half of the pie crust and place in the pie tin. Brush lightly with milk and bake in the oven for 5-10 minutes.
Peel and cut the apples into slices (not too small or they will get soggy when they bake.
Combine sugar, flour, cinnamon, and nutmeg in a separate bowl. Toss apples in sugar mixture and fill pie crust (after it has baked for a few minutes in the oven). Cut butter into 3 or 4 pads and place on top of apples.
Roll out other half of pie crust and place over of pie. Cut small slits into top of pie to release heat while baking, or make some sort of design on top (we chose a cute heart motif for our Thanksgiving based off of the pie). Brush top with milk and place in oven to bake for 30 to 45 minutes.
Take it out, let it cool just a smidge, share, enjoy!

One thought on “Mom’s Apple Pie

  1. Pingback: White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake « Cupcakes on St Marks

Leave a Reply

