Mint Chocolate Brownie

These are a very special treat for a very special someone that we miss very much at my house, and since I am home for Thanksgiving break it’s all about the family. A very close family friend, practically a second big brother without legal adoption, who is off serving out nation about a bajillion miles away has a particular sweet tooth for chocolate mint. Since I have been thinking of family and him, I thought what better then to make a recipe that could be mailed out for him to get a little taste of home!
So, layered mint brownies it is. I kind of combined a few different recipes but I took the bulk of the directions from Spoonful.com  which I did not realize was actually affiliated with Disney until after I was done! (But no wonder I was drawn to it, my subconscious is even obsessed with anything and everything Disney.) I kind of screwed up the chocolate topping since it did not come out all pretty and smooth for me but it still tasted scrumptious so I’m not complaining! I also forgot my good camera at school so I apologize that the images aren’t exactly top notch as I prefer them to be. BUT, I learned that this mint frosting layer is so darn delicious that it could even be used as a frosting for cake or cupcakes or anything you want to top with mint sugar delight!
We miss you so much, Jon, and I hope you enjoy these when you get them!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Mint Chocolate Brownies

Brownies
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 cup white sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt (optional)
Mint Frosting
1/4 cup softened butter
2 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
1 1/2 t o3 tablespoons milk
1/2 teaspoon peppermint extract
green food coloring
Chocolate Topping
3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a 9×9 inch baking pan.
In a medium bowl, mix together the apple sauce, sugar, and vanilla. Beat in eggs. Combine flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt; gradually stir into the egg mixture until well blended. Spread the batter evenly into the prepared pan.
Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until the brownie begins to pull away from edges of pan. Let chill for about 1 hour.
To make the mint frosting, cream the butter and confectioners’ sugar. Add the milk 1 tablespoon at a time, beating until it is smooth and spreadable. Beat in the peppermint extract and tint to the desired shade with green food coloring. Frost the cooled brownies, cover, and chill for 1 hour.
To make the chocolate topping, pour the chips into a microwave-safe bowl, add the butter, and microwave on high for 1 1/2 minutes or until the chocolate melts. Stir until smooth. Pour the chocolate over the brownies and smooth it with a knife. Refrigerate for 45 minutes or until the coating hardens.
Once it has been refrigerated you can bring them back to room temperature to cut them into pieces and store them in airtight containers. Or in my case, mail them away!

One thought on “Mint Chocolate Brownie

Leave a comment