Coke a Cola Cupcakes

So this week marks the return to school and the move to a new apartment. The first week of classes already felt like two weeks so I can tell I have a lot ahead of me this quarter.
When trying to find inspiration for my cupcakes this week, I had to look no further then he teacher I am a TA for (as one of my three jobs). This professor is never seen without her beloved diet coke. So, what if I could try to make a cake out of the soda? Well, turns out in my research that Coke a Cola cake is actually a popular recipe in the south. Lucky enough so that I could find recipes to use!
I followed this recipe from Southern Living and basically mixed together the items in the frosting as well (just not really following it properly). A little warning that they come out an odd spongey and very soft consistency, but they have a phenomenal tanginess to them from the soda.

Just a little tip for you guys out there! Apparently you can substitute butter milk by adding lemon juice to regular milk (1 tablespoon of juice for just under a cup of milk).

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image


Leave a Reply

