Three Citrus Blend

This batch of cupcakes was thought up on a late night that I just could not sleep. I don’t know what made me think of it but I just wanted to do a cupcake made of lemon, lime, and oranges. After some research I decided to do an orange cake with a lemon lime cream cheese frosting (my mother seemed to be quite excited for a citrus cream cheese frosting). The cake ended up being a little bit more dense than I assumed but they were delicious! I think that the frosting was not as strong with the lemon lime as I would have wanted, though. (NOTE: I halved the recipe because the recipe I found was for a whole cake)
This was my first batch of cupcakes baking at home and it is awkward after being so used to my routine in the city. Although, the equipment here is just so much more convenient. A stand mixer is much easier to work with than a hand mixer, although I have nothing against my little purple mixer, but the Disney measuring cups are always preferable.

I just need to make a note here, people. Upon tasting these cupcakes my father (the ultimate definition of a man that hates sweets) wanted MORE FROSTING on his! I always frost half with a little more and half with a little less for the people that prefer less sweetness (usually me and my father) and he liked it so much that he wanted MORE!! This is seriously a groundbreaking moment.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Moroccan Orange Cake

4 eggs
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 cups of flour
4 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup cup fresh orange juice
zest from 1 or 2 oranges (I did 2 and it was just right)
1 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat your oven to 350° F (180° C). If using fresh oranges, zest and juice them.
With an electric mixer or by hand, beat together the eggs and sugar until thick. Gradually beat in the oil.
Stir in the flour, baking powder and salt, and then the orange juice. Beat until smooth, and then mix in the zest and vanilla.
Pour the batter into your tins and bake for 15-17 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Lemon Lime Cream Cheese Frosting

4 tablespoons butter (room temperature)
6 ounces of cream cheese (room temperature)
2 tablespoons finely grated lemon and lime each (I also squeezed in juice from half a lime and half a lemon)
3 cups of powdered sugar

Mix butter, cream cheese, and zest until completely combined. Slowly add in powdered sugar until mixed to a good consistency. Refrigerate and save for later or frost onto cooled cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

