Big Gay Cupcakes

This marks my last week in our little St Marks apartment. I wanted to do a recipe that was inspired by our area in the East Village as a final goodbye to our place. I decided to find inspiration in a great place called Big Gay Ice Cream Shop that was just one street down from us. This place does specialized ice cream combinations, has a line down the street almost every night, and is decorated with a giant glittery unicorn painted on the wall, so it seemed like a good choice naturally. I decided to make a version of one of their specials, the ‘Salty Pimp’. This is vanilla ice cream, injected with caramel sauce, salt, and dipped in a chocolate shell. I knew I would be able to transfer this one into a cupcake easily as well. I did a Salty Pimp-cake; vanilla cake with a soft caramel in the center with a chocolate frosting, salted.
Please note that this was my last few days in my apartment and I was not about to go out and buy a whole new package of anything for this and just needed to substitute some of the standard ingredients for what we had in the fridge (specifically us running out of milk and me replacing it with heavy cream in the recipe which ended up make it insanely rich). Also, I needed to eyeball things and add a little more of certain things just based on how it looked.

BUT! This is not the last recipe for Cupcakes on St Marks! I may be leaving the apartment but I am not leaving the blog. More recipes will be coming every week, just with a little change of scenery.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

ImageImage

Image

Image

Image

Big Gay Ice Cream Salty Pimp-cakes

1 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 stick unsalted butter
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs, room temperature
1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 piece of soft caramel for each cupcake

Combine dry ingredients in one bowl. Combine wet ingredients in a separate bowl and blend well. Add the wet to the dry ingredients until combined. Put batter into cupcake tins and add caramel candy into the center of each. Bake at 350 degrees for 15-17 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Chocolate Frosting
1 cup confectioners sugar
2 teaspoons heavy cream
cocoa powder to taste
splash of water (to thin out frosting)

Combine!

Leave a Reply

