Mom’s Coffee Cake

So this week I was inspired by the photograph of cinnamon rolls in a muffin tray. I wanted to make cinnamon swirl or cinnamon roll cupcakes but was a tad lost on how to do it. Then I had a lovely coworker mention trying a coffee cake recipe, and there it was, this weeks cupcakes. I have been feeling quite homesick for the first time since I can ever remember and these could help me. Ever since I was little my mother made a sour cream coffee cake for Christmas morning. The nostalgia of the recipe really made me feel better and I think it should tide me over until my mother and family come to visit this weekend.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Sour Cream Coffee Cake

1 1/2 cups of sugar
3 cups of flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
3 eggs
1 1/2 sticks melted butter
1 pint (16 oz) sour cream

Cinnamon Sugar Filling

sugar, cinnamon, and a bit of nutmeg

The recipe is simple. Combine all ingredients, layer, and bake at 350. I varied a little bit by adding a pinch of cinnamon into the actual batter just to get the full effect (and left out the salt since my girlfriend doesn’t like baked goods with salt in them). I also layered two layers of cinnamon instead of one like my mother does with the Christmas coffee cake. There was too much better left so I opted to make a cake along with the cupcakes (second to last image).

Leave a Reply

