Red, Whipped, and Blueberry

Happy Fourth of July, America! So, I am late on posting this week because I wanted to save the cupcakes to make themed holiday ones! I opted for a classic, red velvet, threw in some blueberry filling, and topped them with a light vanilla whipped cream. This was actually the first time I have ever made filled cupcakes and I think it went just perfect!
I made a silly decoration choice and put just a dollop of whipped cream in order to cover the filling so it’s like a little surprise under the whipped cream, I guess? Well, it worked. However I did nearly run out of filling and had to skimp on it for some of the last few I made. I also had just enough whipped cream so I guess it was good I only put a bit on top of each. I usually only make a dozen since it’s only three of us here but both of my internships have asked ‘Where are the cupcakes, missy’ so I kind of lucked out because the recipe I used was a huge batch and made 2 dozen good sized cupcakes!
I consulted online recipes this time, the cake is from KeyIngredient and the blueberry compote that was my filling is from a Food Network recipe.  The whipped cream is a normal, heavy cream, splash of vanilla, powder sugar, combination that we use in our apartment a lot.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

I’m a tad homesick since the 4th is always a big ta-do in my neighborhood and there is always a housefull of people and food and I’m alone today but these themed little guys helped me feel a little more at home. Happy and safe celebrating!

Leave a Reply

