Pumpkin Pecan Cupcakes with Orange Frosting

This week I decided to go for a recipe from the second of my two cupcake books. A pumpkin and pecan cupcake with fresh orange frosting. I knew pumpkin was a good choice since my girlfriend loves any and everything pumpkin but they ended up being all around delicious. I loved the pecans and the frosting with fresh orange juice and orange zest was amazing (and tasted a little bit like orange sorbet!). The batter was so thick that it ended up wrapping entirely around my mixer and when I put it into the tins, it ended up staying the exact same lumpy shape when it was baked.

Also, my girlfriend said these were also her favorites, along with the pistachio ones from last week.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Pumpkin Pecan Cupcakes

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt (I left this out since my girlfriend prefers baked goods without salt)
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon grated nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1 stick unsalted butter, room temperature
3/4 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup cooked or canned pumpkin
1 cup chopped pecan

Preheat oven to 350F.
Mix flour, baking power, salt, spices together and set aside.
Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Add vanilla and pumpkin and beat until smooth. Add dry ingredients. Fold in pecans.
Spoon batter into cupcake papers, filling cups about 2/3 full, smoothing batter with the back of a spoon (which I missed). Bake for 30 minutes or until tester inserted into center comes out clean.
(I baked mine for 25 minutes and they were perfectly done.)

Fresh Orange Juice Frosting

1/2 stick butter, room temperature
2 cups powdered sugar
1 tablespoon fresh orange juice (I just freshly squeezed an orange instead)
1 tablespoon frech grated orange rind
1 egg white
Pinch of salt (which I also left out)

Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add orange juice and rind and continue beating. Beat egg white with pinch of salt until stiff but not dry. Gently fold into mixture.
(I ended up freezing them because I put in extra orange juice and the frosting was a bit liquidy.)

Leave a Reply

