Chai Tea Cupcakes with Honey Frosting

This week I floundered on what I wanted to make I wanted to try something crazy that I never really looked into. Then last night a friend of a friend asked me to give her my top five cupcakes ever. Needless to say, I struggled through that answer. However, I mentioned that I made Earl Grey Tea cupcakes that I loved and upon that comment I remembered that I wanted to try doing the same recipe with chai tea instead. So this morning I chose to do this recipe basically from memory. Most of the recipes for tea cupcakes say to add straight up tea or add it in boiling water. The recipe I used, though, always had the tea steeped in boiling milk that was added to the batter. So I googled a few recipes, found nothing like my own, and kind of winged it from memory and multiple recipes online.
Then for the frosting I had wanted to try a honey flavored frosting. I could have gone with a cream cheese honey frosting but I opted for the lighter egg white and honey recipe listed below. My one recommendation however is to NOT USE that much honey. The frosting ended up so powerfully honey that I put a very thin layer on and ended up having to still take some off by the end of my cupcake. But it was a very creative frosting and a unique texture that I enjoyed and hope to play with later.

Image
Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Honey Frosting

1 1/4 cup Honey
2  egg whites
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla

Heat honey in a saucepan, over very low heat, stirring occasionally.
In a large bowl, combine egg whites, salt, and vanilla; beat with an electric mixer until the egg whites are stiff, but not dry.
Slowly pour honey into the stiffened egg whites, while beating at a low speed.
When all honey is combined, crank up the mixer speed to high and beat for 7-10 minutes, or until the mixture has stiffened back up.

2 thoughts on “Chai Tea Cupcakes with Honey Frosting

Leave a Reply

