Pink Champagne Cupcakes

For my first recipe in the apartment I wanted to do something special. So, I decided to make a cupcake that I had made for New Years Eve, pink champagne. Since I do not have my original recipe I decided to just google some and see what I found. I ended up using a recipe from http://www.squirrelbakes.com/. I decided to half the recipe since two dozen is quite a lot of cupcakes for three people and I opted out of the food coloring because I prefer not to use it. Although, after making them I relized why it called for food coloring because the cupcakes were slightly blue! Oh, well. I think it was a great first bake.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Pink Champagne Cupcakes
Cupcakes:
3 cups cake flour
3 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
2/3 cup butter, softened
1 and 1/2 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup pink champagne
6 egg whites
4-5 drops red food coloring
additional pink champagne for glazing

Frosting:
3 and 1/4 cups confectioners’ sugar
1 cup butter, softened
3 tbsp pink champagne
4-5 drops red food coloring

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease or line two cupcake pans and set aside. In a medium bowl sift together flour, baking powder, and salt and set aside. In a large bowl beat egg whites till stiff peaks form and set aside. In a second large bowl, cream butter and sugar until fluffy. Alternate adding flour mixture and champagne to butter mixture till well combined, scraping sides and bottom of bowl as necessary. Add in red food coloring till pink color is attained. Fold in 1/3 of the whipped egg whites and mix thoroughly. Add in remaining egg white mixture till combined. Fill cupcake liners with 1/4 cup of batter and bake for 18-20 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Let cupcakes cool in pan for 5 minutes, then remove and let cool completely on wire rack. Once cupcakes have cooled, gently poke 8-10 holes in cupcake using a toothpick. Using a pastry brush, glaze the cupcakes with extra champagne.

For frosting, beat butter till creamy. With mixer on low, slowly add in sifted confectioners’ sugar. Once all sugar is incorporated beat on high for 3-5 minutes or until smooth and fluffy. Add in champagne and mix till incorporated. Fill a pastry bag with frosting and decorate cooled and champagne glazed cupcakes.
Leave a Reply

